ads

Slider[Style1]

Style2

Style3[OneLeft]

Style3[OneRight]

Style4

Style5

Style6[OneLeft]

Style6[OneRight]

Have you read THE WHITE ARROW (The Bow of Hart Saga: Book 3) by P.H. Solomon, a epic fantasy? Today Readeropolis is featuring a guest post from author.

Don't forget to enter for a chance to win the tour giveaway and follow the Silver Dagger book tour (for other dates see the link at the bottom of the post).




The Real Spark Pt. 2


The White Arrow is the last book of The Bow of Hart Saga but there is one character who has become quite a favorite even though he doesn't even have a line of dialogue in the entire series: Spark.

Spark is a dog that only Athson sees. For a long time, he's not even sure Spark is real. This dog strongly favors a German Shepherd that loyally follows Athson everywhere - even since he was orphaned.

I mentioned in part one about Spark that my daughter suggested the idea of using a dog character. I agreed with her and came up with Spark, a dog resembling a German Shepherd based on our family dogs.

We have a male and female German Shepherd and they are each different in personality. The male is quite outgoing with people, loves tricks, loves swimming and really does talk with his tail. The female is more suspicious of people, loves puzzles, gets rowdy very quickly and loves to go running.

The male's name is Sam and he's quite the character in his own right. He's now eleven and struggles with jumping and some activities. However, he loves to swim. The first time he saw the ocean, he went nuts running in and out of the surf. Recently, we took him to the place where he first started swimming at a state park. It's challenging to get into the area and even more so to climb out. But Sam made the trek and played at a small waterfall, snapping at the water flowing over the edge.

Sam is also a trickster, a trait which he gets from his father who would create distractions just to hog attention from people. Sam will trick our female, named Chloe, into taking a toy or bone from him just so he can get attention. Once, Chloe took a bone from him so he went to eat food she didn't finish. She chased him away from her bowl and he happily returned to grab the bone. He plays Chloe like a fiddle sometimes.

However, Chloe likes to play rough and gets rowdy very quickly. She doesn't take to visitors very quickly and lets everyone know she's very protective. She is highly active and likes to go on runs. Sometimes, she has a running fit in the yard and I have to watch out that she doesn't run into me. She likes having something to do and takes to commands very quickly and consistently. She once broke her lease in a confrontation with other dogs  on the loose. She ran into the middle of the other dogs on the attack but responded to my command to stop and return to me.

The most interesting trait about Sam is his ability to talk with his tail. When he's paying close attention, he wags his tail for yes and doesn't wag for no. In this way, we ascertained that he wanted a cat after our old one died several years ago. The way to make sure he's paying attention is to ask several questions you know he will answer with a wag. Then ask about something you know he doesn't like. Then ask something you don't know how he'll answer. One "conversation" went like this:

Sam wagged his tail when questioned about liking cold weather because he does.
Sam wagged his tail when asked if he wanted to sleep inside because he prefers out company.
Sam didn't wag his tail when asked if he wanted to sleep outside in the cold because he doesn't like sleeping outside.
Sam wagged his tail when asked if Chloe bit him because she harasses him often and it annoys him.
But when asked if we wanted Chloe to sleep outside, he wagged his tail.

That last answer got us all laughing. But his tail-talking also lets us know when his arthritis is bothering him.

With this communication, I decided to give Spark some dialogue in the books. However, Athson doesn't pick up on this detail until late in the game. But knowing this, there are times when the reader can ascertain that Spark is saying something about a situation while Athson is oblivious to the communication.

Both our dogs are very intelligent and responsive to commands so it was easy to add Spark and give him a few traits of both dogs. If you're wondering, Spark looks most like Chloe on the cover of the books.

So now you know more about Spark and the dogs upon which he's based. I hope you enjoy this book and find Spark and the rest of the story entertaining.


The White Arrow
The Bow of Hart Saga: Book 3
by P.H. Solomon


Genre: Epic Fantasy




From the author of The Bow of Destiny, Fantasia Reviews 2016 Book of the Year, and An Arrow Against the Wind comes the thrilling conclusion of The Bow of Hart Saga - Fall of 2017! Pre-order your copy today!


Bound to prophecy, his destiny balanced on an arrow’s tip.


Athson has found the Bow of Hart and is being pursued by his enemies as well as haunted by both his past and his failures. But according to Hastra the Withling, the prophecy of the bow indicates Eloch will send an arrow for its use. Magdronu watches for the appearance of the arrow and sets his plans in motion to regain control of his magic. With his sights set on Auguron, the dragon sends his forces on the attack while waiting for his chance to steal both prophesied elements that stand in the way of his ultimate goal. But when the arrow arrives, it is from a most unexpected source and lands in unforeseen hands, so that events twist like an arrow in flight. Can Athson overcome his past and his failures to use the Bow of Hart as intended against Magdronu? The archer and the bow await the coming arrow…



Finish the hunt with The White Arrow!


The third novel of The Bow of Hart Saga from P. H. Solomon, The White Arrow, is a new edition to the great quest fantasy novels in the tradition of R. A. Salvatore, Piers Anthony, Terry Brooks and Terry Goodkind.






An Arrow Against the Wind
The Bow of Hart Saga: Book 2

Haunted by his past. Hunted in the present. Buffeted like an arrow in the wind.

The hunt for the Bow of Hart continues for Athson and his companions. They have escaped the clutches of Magdronu and Corgren, but they are still pursued. In need of answers to deep mysteries revealed in Chokkra, Athson must gain possession of the mythic bow to face both his enemies and his tragic past. But Magdronu's reach stretches among Athson's companions, endangering Limbreth and even Hastra in schemes to entrap them all. With each turn of the search for the Bow of Hart, long hidden secrets surface that threaten to destroy Athson. Will he falter like an arrow against the wind?


"An Arrow Against the Wind is a wonderful follow-up to The Bow of Destiny." - Bookwraiths

"We have read more than a couple great books this year, and An Arrow Against the Wind is surely among them." - Fantasia Reviews






The Bow of Destiny


The Bow of Hart Saga: Book 1




Haunted by his past. Hunted in the present. Uncertain what is real.


Athson has seen things that aren't there and suffered fits since being tragically orphaned as a child at the hands of trolls and Corgren the wizard. When a strange will mentioning a mysterious bow comes into his possession, he's not sure it's real. But the trolls that soon pursue him are all too real and dangerous. And what's worse, these raiders serve Corgren and his master, the hidden dragon, Magdronu, who are responsible for the destruction of his childhood home. Athson is drawn into a quest for the concealed Bow of Hart by the mystic Withling, Hastra, but Athson isn't always sure what's real and who his enemies are. With Corgren and Magdronu involved, Athson must face not only frequent danger but his grasp on reality and the reasons behind his tragic past.








P. H. Solomon lives in the greater Birmingham, AL area where he strongly dislikes yard work and sanding the deck rail. However, he performs these duties to maintain a nice home for his loved ones as well as the family’s German Shepherds. In his spare time, P. H. rides herd as a Computer Whisperer on large computers called servers (harmonica not required). Additionally, he enjoys reading, running, most sports and fantasy football. Having a degree in Anthropology, he also has a wide array of more “serious” interests in addition to working regularly to hone his writing. The Bow of Destiny is his first novel-length title with more soon to come.






Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!




About Mayor Sonni

Reader extraordinaire. Mayor of Readeropolis. Lover of books, lists, sweet tea, and vacations. Well, not necessarily in that order.
«
Next
Newer Post
»
Previous
Older Post

No comments:

Post a Comment


Top