Page Nav

HIDE

Grid

GRID_STYLE

Classic Header

{fbt_classic_header}

Header Ad

Breaking News

latest

Author Q&A ft William Becker | Grey Skies Book Tour and $20 Amazon GC / Poster #Giveaway | #Horror

Grey Skies by William Becker is on virtual book tour. The horror stops at Readeropolis with an author interview. Be sure ...




Grey Skies by William Becker is on virtual book tour.

The horror stops at Readeropolis with an author interview.

Be sure to enter for a chance to win the giveaway for a $20 Amazon GC (1 winner) or a Grey Skies Poster (3 winners) and follow the Silver Dagger book tour (for other dates see the link at the bottom of the post).




Do you prefer to write in silence or with noise? Why?

I can do either. For most of my high school career, I wrote completely in silence, but with Grey Skies, both with writing and editing, I locked myself in a dark room and blasted experimental music. Setting a mood for your writing can really elevate whatever you are doing, especially when it comes to horror.

Pen or type writer or computer?

Typewriters just aren’t practical. I get it if you are a beanie-wearing hipster who frequents coffee shops and you want to hold on to your Instagram Aesthetic, but writing with a typewriter is so obnoxious that I couldn’t imagine any sensible person doing it. As for pen, my handwriting is disgusting. If you saw it, you’d be repulsed by how awful it is. Every teacher I’ve ever had has commented on how bad it is. I get that I’m supposed to be a writer and what not, so I should have good handwriting, but that’ll never happen/

Advice they would give new authors?

Four rules:

  1. Write good
  2. Don’t write bad
  3. Execution and grammar are important.
  4. Bad execution and grammar are never ever considered just your “style.”

Describe your writing style.

It is more of a blend than most people. I’m not out here dedicating entire pages to metaphors, flowery language, and literary poetry, which is nice and all in the right place, but I can’t stomach writing super simple sentences, ala Mitch Albom. My writing blends simple, blunt, and easy to read sentences, with more complex moments that are used to service the literature, so that it never becomes completely overwhelming.

What makes a good story?
A story that you have fun reading and that makes you think. A great story should be fun to read and should also provoke the reader. Good stories do one or the other.



Grey Skies
by William Becker
Genre: Horror


Roman Toguri finds himself burying the body of a nun in Boone, North Carolina. As the skies darken and it begins to storm, he is forced to shove the corpse into his trunk and take it home for the night, unaware of the torment that playing God will bestow upon him.


Enter Hell with two bonus short stories: The White Shade, an ultra-violent look into the mind of a mass shooter, and The Black Box, a psychedelic dive into weird horror.









William Becker is an 18-year-old horror author with a mind for weirder sides of the universe. With an emphasis on complex and layered storylines that tug harshly on the reader to search for deeper meanings in the vein of Silent Hill and David Lynch, Becker is a force to be reckoned within the horror world. His works are constantly unfathomable, throwing terror into places never before seen, while also providing compelling storylines that transcend the predictable jumpscares of the popular modern horror.


His first novel, WEEPING OF THE CAVERNS, was written when he was 14. After eight months of writing, editing, and revising, the story arrived soon after his 15th birthday. During the writing sessions for his debut novel, he also wrote an ultra-controversial short story known as THE WHITE SHADE that focused on the horrors of a shooting. Living in a modern climate, it was impossible for THE WHITE SHADE to see the light of day. Following a psychedelic stint that consisted of bingeing David Lynch movies, weird art, and considering the depth of the allegory of the cave wall, he returned to writing with a second story, THE BLACK BOX, and soon after, his second novel, GREY SKIES.






Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!






12 comments

  1. Best of luck with the book and book tour! I included the tour in the Thursday, Jun. 13, 2019 edition of The BookTube Your Shelf Daily Reader: https://paper.li/Readeropolis/1517059010#/

    ReplyDelete
  2. It sounds very interesting. I look forward to reading it.
    Flyergal82 (at /yahoo -dot !com

    ReplyDelete
  3. The book sounds very interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like the cover. It really draws me in. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  5. The cover is interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Congratulations on your success at such a young age.

    ReplyDelete
  7. The cover looks appealing to any fan of the horror genre.

    ReplyDelete

Get carried away with love!